Surgeon General’s Warning

As I pulled into a parking lot in my apartment complex, I saw a girl my age smoking a cigarette.

A few thoughts crossed my mind, but in the end, I’m sure she is already aware of the health risks. Perhaps she thinks they don’t really apply to her, or maybe she is only focused on the here-and-now, or maybe she would vehemently argue that it’s none of my business. Either way, she made a decision, because she was very happily smoking her cigarette.

But then I had to stop myself, because while I was pondering the physical health of this stranger, I realized that I was doing exactly what she was doing.

I have this really sweet, loving, beyond-words Savior who knows me quite intimately and cares about all of the intricate details of my life. He has warned me of what will happen when I choose not to obey him; of what happens when I only think about the hear-and-now or my selfish needs or, honestly, anything outside of His glorious gifts (and, sometimes struggles).

Yet we all have a choice to make. And I, like that girl, ignore the “you should”s or “you’re supposed to”s or “it’s not good”, and I follow my own rules. My own path. After all, it’s my life, right? I shouldn’t have to answer to anyone!

Foolish, foolish of me.

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.  – James 1:17

What's on your mind?

